A Midsummer Night's Dream: A Play for the Nation

A co-production between the Royal Shakespeare Company and amateur companies across the UK.

In 2016, the RSC and amateur companies around the UK, including The Bear Pit Theatre Company, take you on a very special Midsummer adventure with a unique production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

The nation’s favourite Shakespeare play is performed as never before; magically intertwining professional and amateur actors, deep in an enchanted wood on Midsummer’s night. Catch the show in Stratford-upon-Avon and on tour around the UK where regional amateur groups will perform with the Royal Shakespeare Company.

On Midsummer’s Day 2015 the RSC announced the 14 amateur companies from around the UK who will be joining us on our journey. Meet the Bottoms in the RSC’s trailer and visit the Dream 2016 website to get to know each company.

This is an arrangement developed between the RSC and Equity.

The Bear Pit Theatre Company Cast:

‘Dame’ Shirley Allwork as Starveling the Tailor

Roger Ganner as Peter Quince

Charlotte Froud as Snug the Joiner

David Mears as Nick Bottom the Weaver

Dominic Skinner as Flute the Bellow Mender

David Southeard as Snout the Tinker

Directed by Deputy Artistic Director Erica Whyman, Associate Director Kimberley Skyes and Bear Pit Associate Artist, Nicky Cox.

Please note that The Bear Pit Theatre Company only be performing on the following dates:

Wednesday 17th February 7:15 PM, Friday 19th February 7:15 PM, Monday 22nd February 7:15 PM, Thursday 25th February 1:15 PM 7:15 PM, Saturday 27th February 1:15 PM & 7:15 PM, Monday 29th February 7:15 PM, Thursday 3rd March 1:15 PM & 7:15 PM and Friday 4th March 7:15 PM,

Returning: Friday 17th June 7:15 PM, Saturday 18th June 1:15 PM 7:15 PM


Performance Dates
17 February - 18 June 2016
7:15pm (1:15pm matinee performances)

Venue
Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 6BB

Coming soon...

Parrots of the Caribbean

5 - 7 July 2018
7:30pm (Friday 6th July, 2pm - Relaxed performance & Saturday 7 July, 4pm and 7.30pm)